About NNA |  NNA History |  News Archive |  Leadership |  Committees |  Staff and Contact Information
 New NNA website
 Login

 

About NNA

Board of Directors

The National Newspaper Association is governed by a Board of Directors elected by the association's membership at the annual business meeting held during the annual convention.

The Board of Directors may include the following members:

  • President
  • Vice-president
  • Treasurer
  • Immediate past-president
  • Secretary
  • Eleven (11) regional representatives
  • Representative from American Court & Commercial Newspapers
  • Representative from Newspaper Association Mangers
  • Representative from Suburban Newspapers of America
  • Five (5) at-large directors

Officers 2009–2010

Cheryl Kaechele

President
Cheryl Kaechele
Publisher
Kaechele Publishing Company
publisher@allegannews.com
Term: 9/09 – 9/10

Elizabeth (Liz) K. Parker

Vice President
Elizabeth (Liz) K. Parker
Co-Publisher/Executive Editor
Recorder Community Newspapers
eparker@recordernewspapers.com
Term: 9/09 – 9/10

Reed Anfinson

Treasurer
Reed Anfinson
Publisher
Swift County Monitor-News
reed@monitor-news.com
Term: 9/09 – 9/10

John W. Stevenson

Immediate Past President
John W. Stevenson
Publisher
The Randolph Leader
john@therandolphleader.com
Term: 9/09 – 9/10

Brian Steffens

Secretary/Executive Director
Brian Steffens
National Newspaper Association
briansteffens@nna.org

Tonda Rush

Director of Public Policy
Tonda F. Rush
National Newspaper Association
tonda@nna.org

Directors

Vacant

Region 1 (CT, MA, ME, NH, RI, VT)
Vacant

John Edgecombe, Jr.

Region 7 (IA,KS, MO, NE)
John Edgecombe, Jr., Publisher
The Nebraska Signal
Geneva, NE 68361-0233
jedgecombe@thenebraskasignal.com
Term: 9/08 – 9/11

Carl Aiello

Region 2 (DC, DE, MD, NJ, NY, PA)
Carl Aiello, President
Times Community Publications of The Hudson Valley
300 Stony Brook Ct
Newburgh, NY 12550-65210
caiello@tcnewspapers.com
Term: 9/09 – 9/12

John D. Montgomery Jr.

Region 8 (AR, LA, OK, TX)
John D. Montgomery Jr., Publisher
The Purcell Register
PO Box 191
Purcell, OK 73080-0191
montgomeryjohnd@yahoo.com
Term: 9/04 – 9/12

Jeffrey (Jeff) Fishman

Region 3 (KY, NC, TN, VA, WV)
Jeffrey (Jeff) Fishman, Publisher
The Tullahoma News
PO Box 400
Tullahoma, TN
37388-0400
tnpub@lcs.net
Term: 9/05 – 9/11

Jon E. (Jeb) Bladine

Region 9 (AK, ID, MT, OR, WA)
Jon E. (Jeb) Bladine, President / Publisher
News-Register Publishing Company
McMinnville, OR 97128-0727
jbladine@newsregister.com
Term: 9/04 – 9/10

William (Bill) Jacobs

Region 4 (AL, FL, GA, MS, SC)
William (Bill) Jacobs, Publisher
The Daily Leader
PO Box 551
Brookhaven, MS
39601-0551
bjacobs@dailyleader.com
Term: 9/06 – 9/11

Merle Baranczyk

Region 10 (CO, NM, UT, WY)
Merle Baranczyk, Publisher
The Mountain Mail
PO Box 189
Salida, CO 81201-0089
merleb@avpsalida.com
Term: 9/04 – 9/10

Jeffrey (Jeff) Farren

Region 5 (IL, IN, MI, OH)
Jeffrey (Jeff) Farren, President/Publisher
Kendall County Record Newspapers Inc.
PO Box J
Yorkville, Il 60656-0256
jfarren290@aol.com
Term: 9/09 – 9/12

Sharon DiMauro

Region 11 (AZ, CA, HI, NV, GUAM)
Sharon DiMauro, Publisher
The Mendocino Beacon
Fort Bragg Advocate-News
Fort Bragg, CA 95437-1188
sdimauro@mcn.org
Term: 6/06 – 9/10

Steve Andrist

Region 6 (MN, ND, SD, WI)
Steve Andrist, President/Publisher
Journal Publishing Inc.
PO Box E
Crosby, ND 58730-0660
stevea@crosbynd.com
Term: 9/09 – 9/12

   

Sister Organizations

Mark Thomas

Mark Thomas
Executive Director
Oklahoma Press Association
mthomas@okpress.com
Term: 10/09 – 10/10

Mark W. C. Stodder

Mark W. C. Stodder
Executive Vice President/Business Information
Dolan Media Company
Mark.stodder@dolanmedia.com
10/09 – 10/10

At-large Members

Mike Buffington

Past President Representative
Mike Buffington
Publisher
Main Street Newspapers, Inc.
mike@mainstreetnews.com
Term: 10/09 – 10/10

James Sterling

University of Missouri Representative
James Sterling
Missouri Chair in Community Newspaper Management
University of Missouri-Columbia
sterlingj@missouri.edu
Term: 10/09 – 10/10

Chip Hutcheson

Chip Hutcheson
Publisher
The Times Leader
chiphutcheson@timesleader.net
Term: 10/09 – 10/10

Robert M. Williams, Jr.

Robert M. Williams, Jr.
Chairman and Publisher
Southfire Newspaper Group
rwilliams@theblacksheartimes.com

 

JoAnn Reed

JoAnn Reed
Director Circulation Executive Development
Community Newspaper Holdings, Inc.
jareed@cnhi.com
Term: 10/09 – 10/10

Max Heath

Honorary
Max Heath-NNA Postal Chairman
Retired Vice President Postal/Acq.
Landmark Community Newspapers, Inc
maxheath@lcni.com