NNA to honor distinguished community leader with 2015 Amos Award

Jun 11, 2015

COLUMBIA, MO—William F. “Bill” Tubbs of Eldridge, IA, will be honored during the National Newspaper Association’s 2015 Annual Convention & Trade Show in St. Charles, MO, where he will be presented with the James O. Amos Award at the association’s business luncheon on Oct. 3, 2015.

Recognized as the highest and most dignified tributes in community journalism, the Amos and McKinney Awards are presented to a working or retired newspaperman and woman who have provided distinguished service and leadership to the community press and their community.

Tubbs, publisher of the North Scott Press, will receive the 2015 James O. Amos Award. Tubbs will be recognized in Publishers’ Auxiliary, as well.

The Amos Award was established in 1938 in honor of General James O. Amos, a pioneer Ohio journalist and member of the National Editorial Association—now known as the National Newspaper Association (NNA).

Past and present Amos Award winners are listed at www.nnaweb.org.

Established in 1885, the National Newspaper Association is the voice of America’s community newspapers and the largest newspaper association in the country. The nation’s community papers inform, educate and entertain nearly 150 million readers every week.