NNA honors Sawvell with 2014 Phillips Award

Nov 4, 2014

SAN ANTONIO, TX— Derek Sawvell was honored during the National Newspaper Association’s 128th Annual Convention & Trade Show, when he was presented with the Daniel M. Phillips Leadership Award.

NNA established this award in 2007 to honor Daniel Morris “Dan” Phillips, an award-winning writer, photographer and assistant publisher of the Oxford (MS) Eagle, who died in 2005 at the age of 47. This award is presented to an individual between 23-40 years old who is well respected in his or her community, of good reputation and integrity, provides active leadership in the newspaper industry and is active in his or her state press association and community and whose newspaper is a member of NNA.

Sawvell is managing editor for the Wilton-Durant Advocate News in Wilton, IA.

The award was presented at the business luncheon, Oct. 4, 2014, which was held during NNA’s Annual Convention & Trade Show in San Antonio, TX.

Sawvell, who was nominated by Bill Tubbs, publisher of the North Scott Press in Eldridge, IL, is the sixth recipient of the Daniel M. Phillips Leadership Award.

Past Daniel M. Phillips Leadership Award winners are listed at nnaweb.org.